Middle School Science

The Ann Arbor middle school science curriculum is comprised of three courses; Earth Science in sixth grade, Life Science in seventh grade, and Physical Science in eighth grade. The curriculum provides multiple inquiry-based experiences that support student understanding of essential concepts and science practices. 

The Michigan Science Grade Level Content Expectations (GLCEs) define specific skills and understandings that students are to develop in sixth and seventh grade Science. Two documents define skills and understandings that eighth grade students are to learn: (1) Michigan Science Expectations for eighth grade and; (2) select High School Content Expectations for Chemistry and Physics.

Michigan assesses student learning in Science using the Michigan Student Test of Educational Progress, (M-STEP) in grades four, seven and eleven. 

The table below identifies units of study in each grade level.

6th Grade Science

7th Grade Science

8th Grade Science

Earth Science Focus

Life Science Focus

Physical Science Focus

Earth Systems

Solid Earth

Fluid Earth

Earth in Space and Time

Organization of Living Things




Force and Motion


Properties of Matter

Changes in Matter

All middle school Science courses engage students in the science and engineering practices essential to career and college readiness. These practices include the following.
  • Asking questions and defining problems
  • Developing and using models
  • Planning and carrying out investigations
  • Analyzing and interpreting data
  • Using mathematics and computational thinking
  • Constructing explanations and designing solutions
  • Obtaining, evaluating and communicating information 
The Michigan K-12 Science Standards can be found at the following link:
Amy Deller
District Science Department Chair