• School History

    1967 Huron High School scheduled to open.
    1968-69 "Pioneer" students attend Ann Arbor High School in the morning, "Huron" students attended in the afternoon. Huron (the campus) opened in 1969. Originally, classes were held at Ann Arbor High School (now known as Pioneer High).
    Fall 1969 Huron High School opened.
    1970 Huron wins its first state championships in swimming and cross country.
    1973 Student Council members voted themselves out of the office because they felt that they held no power with the administration.
    April 1982 Peer facilitation program began.
    April 1988 Ann Arbor Board of Education passed a $31 -million renovation and construction program. The Student Advocate School Board (SASB) convinced the school board to adopt a renovation plan without enclosing the arch.
    1988-1991 Renovations included alterations to Huron structure. Since the 1970's, the library and lunchrooms have been enlarged and science and math wings have been added. Extensions of the science wing (5200), the band room (7124), the math department (6100, 6200), the athletic wing including the new pool and gym (1000s) .The athletic department and the dome gym were constructed.
    Fall 1989 Freshmen entered Huron.
    1992 Split lunch rule instated.
    May 12, 1993 The auditorium is dedicated to Paul K. Meyers.
    1995 New additions - The Sports team facilities were improved by the 1995 additions of the new pool, a track and football stadium.
    1997 The football stadium was lighted for evening games.
    2004 Artificial turf replaced grass in the Stadium.
    2004 Exterior Signage (“Riverbank Stadium” and “Home of the River Rats” signs) added to Press Box and additional signage to Concession Stands.
    2006 Over the summer the road under the ARCH was closed and the area resurfaced with concrete. An extensive patio area, pavered pathways and landscaping which included several trees and plantings were added.
    2014 Board votes to make Mitchell, Scarlett and Huron IB candidate schools.
    Fall 2014 One lunch reinstituted for one year.
    Spring 2017 Mitchell, Scarlett and Huron become official World IB schools.
    Spring 2017 The small theater is dedicated to Dr. Richard Ingram and the softball field dedicated to Dottie D. Davis.