Environmental Sustainability Task Force

  • AAPS Advisory Groups > Environment & Sustainability Advisory


    The focus of the AAPS Environmental Sustainability Task Force is to advise the AAPS Board of Education on a formal sustainability plan that will support achieving the goal of environmental sustainability, guide adjustments in operations, and advise on AAPS capital improvement planning, and other district endeavors related to sustainability.


    In accordance with Policy 8000 - Environmental Sustainability - The Ann Arbor Public Schools recognizes that:

    • Climate change is real, increasing, and caused by human activity,
    • The Ann Arbor community is committed to practices that support a healthy environment for present and future generations,
    • The AAPS district has a responsibility to help prepare current and future generations to respond to climate change through the reduction of harmful human activities, the promotion of human activities that restore the environment, and the development of strategies to adapt to climate

    AAPS will have a strong sustainability action plan to progress in living organizational and community commitment to environmental sustainability. The environmental sustainability plan must also support the District’s moral imperative and critical mission to deliver high-quality teaching and learning for all students every day.

  • AAPS Environmental Sustainability Taskforce Membership
    Coert Ambrosino  AAPS Teacher - EE
    Courtney Kiley AAPS Teacher - Community HS
    Dan Ezekiel Retired AAPS teacher
    Dave Szczygiel AAPS Teacher - EE
    Derrick Miller Community Action Network
    Emily Canosa University of Michigan; College for Creative Studies
    Fang Wu City of Ann Arbor
    Ha Young Kwon Psychiatrist, social work
    Jan Culbertson A3C collaborative architecture/A2 2030 District
    Jenni Wilkening AAPS Teacher - Pioneer HS
    Jose Canovas Owens Corning
    Kate McCabe Self-employed small business owner
    Khaled Mahmood Tetra Tech - Environmental Consulting Company
    Kimberly Hill Edwards Waaht e
    Michael Mychaliska AAPS Student
    Stephen T Hirsch Consumers Energy
    Steven Giardini University of Michigan- Michigan Dining
    Virginia He AAPS Student