Health Education

  • Health Education Strands:

    • Strand 1: Nutrition and Physical Activity
    • Strand 2: Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs
    • Strand 3: Safety
    • Strand 4: Social and Emotional Health
    • Strand 5: Personal Health and Wellness
    • Strand 6: HIV Prevention
    • Strand 7: Sexuality Education

    K-8 Michigan Health Education Grade Level Content Expectations

    9-12 Michigan Health Education Grade Level Content Expectations


    Sexual Health Education Advisory Committee  (SHEAC)

    The Ann Arbor Public Schools' Sexual Health Education Advisory Committee (SHEAC) functions in accordance with Michigan legal guidelines and works to follow best practices in sexual health education while maintaining compliance with state laws and local community priorities.   

    The AAPS SHEAC was established in 2007 and is comprised of representatives from the following community groups: 

    • AAPS Parents/Guardians 

    • Clergy, Medical Professionals, Students

    • AAPS Health Teachers

    • AAPS Administrative Liaison

    The committee meets regularly to review submitted materials and make recommendations to the AAPS Board of Education regarding the sexual health curriculum.  

    For more information about SHEAC, please visit our website by clicking here.

  • Content Standards:

    Standard 1: Core Concepts - Apply health promotion and disease prevention concepts and principles to personal, family, and community health issues.

    Standard 2: Access Information - Access valid health information and appropriate health promoting products and services.

    Standard 3: Health Behaviors - Practice health enhancing behaviors and reduce health risks.

    Standard 4: Influences - Analyze the influence of cultural beliefs, media, and technology on health.

    Standard 5: Goal Setting - Use goal setting skills to enhance health.

    Standard 6: Decision Making - Use decision-making skills to enhance health.

    Standard 7: Social Skills - Demonstrate effective interpersonal communication and other social skills which enhance health.

    Standard 8: Advocacy - Demonstrate advocacy skills for enhanced personal, family, and community health.