Executive Board

  • PTO Council Executive Board
    2017 - 2018

    Position Name Email
    Chair Carlene Colvin Garcia ptocexec (at) gmail.com
    Vice Chairs
    Amy Pufahl
    Moira Yuhas 
    amypufahl (at) gmail.com
    moirayuhas (at) sbcglobal.net 
    Jill Anthony Stephenson
    Don Wilkerson
    ptoctreasurer (at) gmail.com
    Recording Secretary June Johnson Kidsareagift (at) gmail.com
    Corresponding Secretary Janine Hutchinson ptoc.correspondence (at) gmail.com
    Board of Education Representatives
    Steve Norton
    Members At Large
    Bruce Doughten
    Heather Eckner
    spartin69 (at) hotmail.com

    Executive Board Member Biographies 

    Chair Carlene Colvin-Garcia

    Carlene Colvin-Garcia has served as co-president of the A2 STEAM @ Northside PTO and is past treasurer of the PTO Council. Her son attends Skyline High School and her daughter is in middle school at A2 STEAM. She has held various roles in the schools her children have attended and believes in contributing to a strong school community, advocacy, partnership and leadership. Carlene and her family reside in Ann Arbor’s Northside neighborhood.

    Vice Chairs  Amy Pufahl, Moira Yuhas

    Amy Pufahl and her husband have three children, a Community High graduate and two Huron River Rats. She has a background in teaching and has taught children from preschool age through eighth grade. Amy has held a variety of positions on several different volunteer boards since her children were in preschool. She shares the role of PTOC vice chair with Moira. Amy credits this group for providing her the opportunity to meet and work with parents from across the district that she likely would not have met otherwise. 

    Moira Yuhas is an Eberwhite, Slauson and Pioneer grad who currently has five children enrolled in AAPS, two children at Pioneer, one at Slauson and two at Lawton.  She is a past president of the Lawton PTO and has volunteered in her children's three schools and athletic booster clubs, whenever possible.  Moira holds an MSW from the University of Michigan with a specialization in child welfare, and formerly worked for the State of Michigan as a Child Protective Services Investigator.  She and her husband Paul live on the westside of Ann Arbor

     Jill Anthony Stephenson, Don Wilkerson



    Recording Secretary  June Johnson


    Corresponding Secretary  
    Janine Hutchinson

    Janine has three children, one each at Dicken, Slauson, and Pioneer.  She currently serves as the PTOC representative for Dicken Elementary and volunteers at Slauson and with the Friends of the Pioneer Choirs.  In the past, she has had various roles on the Triangle Cooperative Preschool Board and the Dicken PTO Board.  She is a civil engineer and works from home part-time designing retaining walls and substitute teaching at Dicken.  She enjoys attending the PTOC meetings and learning about the issues in our school district and advocating for the benefit of all students. 

    Board of Education Rep  Steve Norton

    Steve Norton represents Pioneer on the PTOC. He has two children, a graduate of Community High School and a senior at Pioneer.  He has been heavily involved with the PTOs at his children's schools for a number of years. Other than parent, the hat he wears most often is as executive director of Michigan Parents for Schools, a public-interest advocacy group working to support strong public schools in the state of Michigan. Steve has also been involved in local school millage and school board campaigns, serving as the campaign manager for several. Outside the advocacy sphere, Steve has served on local nonprofit boards for a number of years and also helps small nonprofits with web development and communications needs.


    Members At Large  Bruce Doughten, Heather Eckner

    Bruce is the PTO Council representative for Community High School where his son attends. Bruce was previously the PTO Council representative for Logan Elementary and Clague Middle School. He has been a member of the Ann Arbor Assessment Advisory Task Force and the Bond Advisory Committee for AAPS. Bruce works in Nuclear Medicine as a Technical Director in Cardiology.
     Immediate Past Chair Jack Panitch
    Jack Panitch is a former Vice President and President of the Angell PTO. He served as counsel to the PTO Council for its incorporation and the drafting of its bylaws several years ago and served as Chair of the PTO Council for three years between 2013 and 2016. Jack runs the PTO Council Twitter feed.