Community High School

Ann Arbor Public Schools

School Announcements

  • We are pleased to congratulate Ari Barajas-Hermosillo for winning FIRST PLACE in the Neutral Zone's Potential Art Exhibit. Fabulous work, Ari!

    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to Community student Max Resnick for winning the STATE CHAMPIONSHIP for carpentry in the Skills USA State leadership conference! Way to go, Max!

    Comments (-1)
  • We are so happy that Community High Jazz combo, So Fly Zone, was just declared the 2018 Winner of The Downbeat Magazine Student Music Awards in the High School Combo Contest! This was awarded in the biggest worldwide competition for high school jazz combos. Past Downbeat winners hailed from Los Angeles, New York, Denver, Seattle, Miami, and Berkeley, as well as from Israel, Australia, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, and Japan. The listing of the win is in the just-released June, 2018 issue of the magazine. Congratulations!
    So Fly Zone Members:
    Aris Chalin, Piano, 11th Grade
    Mason Cox, Drums, 12th Grade
    Danny Freiband, Guitar, 12th Grade
    Harry Croley, Bass, 12th Grade
    Jake Lee, Trumpet, 10th Grade
    Comments (-1)
  • Community High journalists earned 70 awards in April at the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association Spring Conference. Congratulations! The Communicator Online was one of three publications to earn the top state honor, The Spartan. The Communicator Magazine was one of eight publications to earn The Spartan. Both publications also won the MIPA Award of Distinction. Awards for writing or graphics:

    First Place: Mazey Perry, Claire Middleton, Sophia Rosewarne, Bella Yerkes, Cammi Tirico, Isaac McKenna, Abigail Gaies, Cammi Tirico, Megan Syer, Cammi Tirico, Sam Ciesielski, Sacha Verlon, Mira Simonton-Chao, Ella Edelstein, Madie Gracey, Morraina Tuzinsky, Grace Jensen, Abigail Gaies

    Second Place: Ava Esmael, Mira Simonton-Chao, Claire Middleton, Shea O’Brien, Isabel Ratner, Jordan De Padova, Josh Martins-Caulfield, Mira Simonton-Chao, Paige Duff, Cammi Tirico, Loey Jones-Perpich, Ruby Taylor, Grace Jensen, Megan Syer, Claire Middleton, Sophia Rosewarne, Bella Yerkes

    Third Place: Mary DeBona, Elena Bernier, Zoe Lubetkin, Gina Liu, Ella Edelstein, Isaac McKenna, Isabel Ratner, Megan Syer, Roxie Richner, Cammi Tirico, Ethan Kahana, Sacha Verlon

    Honorable Mention: Grace Jensen, Cammi Tirico, Ella Edelstein, Gina Liu, Emma Winegarden, iO Soucy, Lucy Scott, Atticus Dewey, Suibhne O’Foighil, Jordan DePadova, Atticus Dewey, Zoe Lubetkin, Abbie Gaies, Ebba Gurney, Mazey Perry, Grace Jensen, Wm. Henry Schirmer, Roxie Richner, Ava Millman, Abigail Gaies, Andie Tappenden, Shane Hoffman, Mary DeBona, Neil Beveridge, Ava Millman, Shane Hoffman, Loey Jones-Perpich, Elena Bernier, Sacha Verlon, Madie Gracey, Mira Simonton-Chao

    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to members of Team 5708 Zebrotics on their Silver Medal performance in the Lakeview District Competition on April 7 & 8! It was a very close competition and we are proud of our Zebras' performance!

    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to the CHS jazz musicians who won awards at the 38th Annual Western Invitational Jazz Festival high school competition on March 11! CHS jazz combo Flashpoint took first place: Sam Uribe, Mei Semones, Aris Chalin (Guest), Terrence Vick, Clarence Collins, and Tim Walters. Also in the finals was CHS jazz combo So Fly Zone: Jake Lee, Danny Freiband, Harry Croley, Aris Chalin, and Mason Cox. Each of these musicians also won individual awards as soloists, along with Ethan Kahana, Ethan Sayer, Jonah Eichner, Oliver Mayman, Daniel Bennett, and Eric Hughes. Great job, musicians and jazz teacher Jack Wagner!

    Comments (-1)